Power of Coconut Oil

Contrary to what many of us think, coconut oil is actually really healthy for our hair. It is so rich in carbohydrates, vitamins and minerals which are good for the human body.

Well, it’s summer break now meaning I get to spend plenty of time at home with my family. Since my internship doesn’t start til June, I’ve been just helping my parents clean the house — which typically is basically throwing away my past year’s notes and other shenanigans. The month back home is also usually when my mom comments on my messy hair and nags me to apply coconut oil on it. I used coconut oil when I was little, but the concept of applying oil worried me about breaking out. I mean, who wants their skin to break out in the summer when you’re catching up with old friends?! Not me.

But, ultimately this summer, I finally decided to listen to my mom and gave it a shot…I promised her I’ll try it once. And, man, best decision ever. Contrary to what many of us think, coconut oil is actually really healthy for our hair. It is so rich in carbohydrates, vitamins and minerals which are good for the human body. Coconut oil is rich in antioxidants, and has antiviral, antifungal, and antibacterial properties. Companies even use it in soaps and other facial products.

I’ve been using it for a solid 15 days — so about 5-6 total coconut oil hair washes. I’ve noticed a huge difference already. When the coconut oil is slowly massaged on our hair, it improves scalp health, fights infections and fungus, supports hair growth. Not only that, it has added volume and shine to my hair without any of the expensive, unnatural products. What more? Well, my hair isn’t as frizzy either…thank God.

If anyone is looking into getting their hair back into shape in a natural way, try coconut oil! I use the Parachute Coconut Hair Oil from the Indian store, but I’m sure they sell other brands at local stores. Just make sure it’s completely 100% natural. The last thing you want to do is apply more chemicals to your hair.

Disclaimer: Coconut oil has worked for me, so I’m just passing on the knowledge. By no means am I endorsing anything by saying this. If you are allergic to it, please don’t try this. Again, use common sense. Worked for me; may not work for you.

Leave a Reply

